Native American Indian Commission


The fifteen member commission was established by the Los Angeles County Ordinance No. 111409 adopted September 7, 1976 and effective October 8, 1976. Five members appointed by the County, five members appointed by the City of Los Angeles, and five members elected by the Native American community pursuant to the elections conducted by the Commission. (LACC § 3.42.030) To view Commissioner’s information, please click on the name, 

Commissioner Tribal Affiliation Appointed by
VACANT   Supervisor Mitchell
CHRISSIE CASTRO. Navajo LA City Mayoral
SHAWN IMITATES-DOG, Chairperson Lakota Native Community
DENISE ESCOTO Cheyenne Native Community
DR. ANDREA N. GARCIA, M.D. Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara LA City Mayoral
DAWN JACKSON Saginaw Chippewa Native Community
CAROLINE BHALLA Menominee LA City Mayoral 
JOHN ONLY A CHIEF Pawnee Native Community
RUDY ORTEGA JR. Fernandeño Tataviam   Supervisor Kuehl
VACANT   LA City Mayoral
MONA MORALES RECALDE Gabrieleno/Tongva Native Community
RICH TOYON Acjachemen Supervisor Barger
TED TENORIO Tiguan Nation Supervisor Solis
MARK VILLASENOR Fernandeño Tataviam LA City Mayoral
RENE’ WILLIAMS Colville Tribes Supervisor Hahn

Comments are closed.

Skip to content